Truncate /etc/machine-id instead of deleting it.
authorSimon McVittie <simon.mcvittie@collabora.co.uk>
Fri, 25 Apr 2014 17:02:06 +0000 (18:02 +0100)
committerDaniel Baumann <mail@daniel-baumann.ch>
Mon, 28 Apr 2014 17:45:52 +0000 (19:45 +0200)
commiteeb4680557c5f3c99197c65bf67a1b884db78e70
tree16c677d0d20105491b6acb4a5bf86cc2d813cf4d
parent0c3f19cf25e2f628fb54cbf2c0004b1703cadb5e
Truncate /etc/machine-id instead of deleting it.

If /etc/machine-id exists but is empty, systemd will do tricks
with bind-mounts to ensure that a valid transient UUID is bind-mounted
over it, which is exactly what we want for a live system.

If /etc/machine-id does not exist, systemd-journald
will just fail, which is undesirable.
share/hooks/0180-remove-systemd-machine-id.hook.chroot